February 9, 2004

It was a late afternoon call to Tim and Cari Koopman on Sunday, February 1 that brought them to the Crawford ranch. Jessica Crawford's prize-winning Hereford cow was in distress delivering her first calf. Jessica and her parents Donna and Scott Crawford are thankful for Tim's quick delivery actions and for Cari performing mouth-to-mouth resuscitation on the calf; the cow and calf are doing just fine. This same Hereford proved itself last October 31, 2003 when after 2 days of grueling competition it won Grand Champion of the Hereford Female division at the Jr. Grand National Rodeo, Horse and Stock Show at the Cow Palace in Daly City.

Jessica Crawford, an honor student at Foothill High, has been active in 4-H for 10 years, showing beef for 6 years and showing hogs for 8 years. And although Jessica had been competing for years locally and at county fairs, this was her first win at a level that brought her competition from much more experienced cattle families that have been competing at the Grand Nationals for years. Jessica also entered 2 Jackpot steers in the Jr. Grand Nationals and each won second place in its class.

Look for Jessica and little sister, Bonnie to be showing the cow-calf pair this spring.

The Sunol 4-H group would like to thank Diane and Frank Fries for allowing the use of their cabin at Pinecrest this past weekend. This annual weekend of snow play is always fun for everyone.

Yes folks, we believe our students are the smartest kids around and to prove that point this is an "only in Sunol" moment. It is my pleasure to announce Sunol Glen Schools second quarter honor roll.

Eighth grade honorees are: Chelsea Barberio-Kitts, Griffin Beemiller, Jessica Bruno, Adam Foster, Christina Gatterman, Josh Hobbs, Parmida Izadi, Colby Jackson, Zach Keck, Saba Mash, Shea Murphy, Ali Roden, Mike Stromberg and Scott Sweetnam.

Seventh grade honorees are: Jordan Bruno, Christina Dyette, Nicole Harvey, Corbin Kuntze, Angela Lee, Wyatt Milne, Robert Pipes, Julian Reisenthel and Tara Zahiri.

Sixth grade honorees are: Nicola Barnes, Jeffrey Bettencourt, Caitlin Carter, Jessica Christian, Angela Dyette, Maverick Hooper, Mackenzie Keck, Hayley Nielsen, Tyler Ocon, Craig Perry, Rachel Raffanti, Kyle Scroggins and Hanna Xenakis.

Fifth grade honorees are: Leny Alexander, Danika Beard, Chase Beck, Richard Behiel, Becca Brown, Mary Chambers, Jordan Craig, Lauren Freeman, Kyle Harris, Stasia Hylas, Katelyn Merrill, Callie Milligan, Melissa Morgan, Ian Player, Bren Power, Anthony Primer, Matthew Reisenthel, Mason Robertson, Adriana Sutalo, Bowie Twombly, Aris Vlacos and Kekoa Wu.

New this second school quarter at Sunol Glen School is awards for being outstanding in music and art/drama. Awards for being an outstanding music student went to Kamryn Lipman, Ashlie Martin, Hunter Beck, Ryan Hobbs, German Brilev-Krikorian, Cassandra Scroggins, Melissa Morgan, Craig Perry, Taylor King, Jovan Beard, Adam Foster and Shea Murphy.

Awards for being an outstanding art/drama student went to Lily Sullins, Koral Captain, Joseph Ciolino, Christina Lee, Paige Arcieri, Emily Jackson, Gabrielle Wu, Leny Alexander, Angela Dyette, Christina Dyette, Andre Green and Tim Xenakis.

Around Sunol
Sunol.net Home